1900 To 1950


International Bonspiel on 8 February 1907 on Castle Loch, Lochmaben. Borestone had 1 rink underJ.T.McLaren v. Middlesborough Caledonian, which we won 36-3. In a match v. Stirling C.C. on 9 February 1907 at Bearside we won 58-46. In the District Medal on 13 February 1907 v. Sauchie & Bannockburn at Bearside Pond we won 62-48 after 3½ hours. Patrons of Borestone James Murray, Mrs. Murray, and Mrs. Steel Maitland. Our President J.T.McLaren. Our secretary William Forrester, Main St., St. Ninians. 24 members + 47 occasionals. 


RCCC President Earl Haig. The Roll of Honour of those who died in the Great War, showed two members of Stirling CC and none from Borestone. In the Grand Match Borestone was 6th highest club score on the winning side. Borestone President A. Robertson. Secretary T.L.Reid, Royal Bank, Stirling. 28 members + 29 occasionals including Col. Stephenson and A. Oswald Jnr (one of the Oswald’s shown on the 1929 photograph).


RCCC President the Earl of Elgin and Kincardine. Vice President Alexander Clarkson of Stirling CC. Borestone President Thomas Stevenson; treasurer James Pelling, Royal Bank, Stirling. 35 members + 37 occasionals including J.N.Dandie, Joseph Jardine, G.R. Jenkins, James Learmonth, D.Irvine Robertson.


James McLaren of Borestone was RCCC Vice President. In the Grand Match Borestone beat Alloa Prince of Wales 65-39. Borestone President John King; secretary P.J.Wood, Estates Office, Polmaise; treasurer John Muirhead, 26 Port St., Stirling. 31 members + 29 occasionals.


Borestone Curling Club celebrated the centenary of its admittance to the RCCC. To mark the occasion the RCCC presented each of the office bearers with a commemorative plaque. 


Borestone secretary, William Thomson, Bearside, Stirling.

Previous | Next