Posted by Deleted User on
I am an administrator for North Lincolnshire, I just have a few queries regarding your email about the themes. 

When will the phasing out take place? 
Will our community sites be effected by this (e.g. What will happen to a site using a certain theme if that theme is removed) .
Could I also please have a list of all theme's you are removing.
2: Re: New themes (response to 1)
Posted by Voice Admin on

No themes will be removed until the two new responsive themes are well established and "loved" by sites. There is no fixed timescale for this, and when we do it we will give people a warning of specific dates.

I think when we come to remove them then we won't force any sites to change theme if they really don't want to. The old themes will no longer be available for sites to select, but if a site is already using one then they will be able to continue doing so. We recommend that sites using these old themes should change, but currently we don't intend to enforce it.

Ultimately we intend that we will remove access to all themes apart from the two new responsive ones (the first one of which is currently available), as well as DarkTones and Playtime.

Thanks

Joe - Voice Admin

3: Re: New themes (response to 2)

Thanks for your reply Joe. 

Nick

4: Re: New themes (response to 2)
Posted by josi51 on

We currently use the Dark Tones theme and love the look of the site and are therefore disappointed that this is likely to go in the future.

If we ultimately have to move to a new theme is it possible to either let us make the changes without it going immediately live or to have a 'test' area to create the look before publishing on our live site?  I did try out the new live theme (which sadly I didn't like) and it nearly gave me heart failure when it immediately went live, with an added moment of panic as to whether I could get the original back!  Basically I don't want our users to be constantly seeing changed screens until I get it right.

Thanks