Posted by orchardgirl on

How would I go about adding a donate button to a charity website?  I found another question about this on the Forums which suggested going via PayPal. Are there other routes to getting a donate button?

2: Re: Donate Button (response to 1)
Posted by Joe Oldak on

Before adding a button you would need the mechanism for people to do the donation itself. Voice doesn't have a payment system built in, so you would need to use a third party for this.

I'm not an expert here, but there are several services that would allow someone to make a donation to a charity. For example I can go to CAF, click on Donate to a charity, search for a charity and donate directly to them.

So in this case it would be easy to make a Donate button on your site which links to the page on the CAF site for your charity. CAF have a page about different ways to set up donations from a website using their tools.

There are other services that let you create a widget that you can embed on a website to donate to a charity. For example: JustGiving, Give Lively, and Donorbox.

I don't know the pros and cons of each service, I just did a web search for charity donation widgets.

So, you need to choose a service that you want to use for gathering donations, then I'm sure we can help with adding the Donate button to your website for that service.

Thanks

Joe - Voice Admin

3: Re: Donate Button (response to 2)
Posted by michjems on

I have a PayPal link but how do add a donate button to the site and connect it to PayPal?

4: Re: Donate Button (response to 2)
Posted by Lucie on

I would be interested in a donate button as well, iIuse donorbox

5: Re: Donate Button (response to 2)
Posted by Joe Oldak on

The method of adding a donation button will depend on what you want to do.

If you have created a donation page on a third party service (such as JustGiving etc) that you want to link to - then you can create a standard link to this page and style it as a button.