Posted by Secretary Nat on

We have a need to restrict membership to a particular voting ward . Is there any way, before making someone a member, of seeing their full name so that we are able to write and check their address.
The same applies to members, how can I see their full names.
I am new to this so the answer might be obvious...thanks in advance.
Mike

2: Re: Accessing Full Names (response to 1)

Hi Mike,

Unfortunately we don't provide full name details for users as that would create a data protection issue.

As an administrator you are provided the email address of the account so you can email them to get in contact.

If that doesn't help or you need further information please do get back in touch.

Regards,

Rob Denison.

Cambridge Open Systems' support team

3: Re: Accessing Full Names (response to 2)

Thank you Rob, I understand now. Am I able to access their full name once joined so as to tie up screen names with real people.

I'm not a computer person but have enjoyed a steep learning curve with this project.

Many thanks

Mike

4: Re: Accessing Full Names (response to 3)
Posted by Joe Oldak on

Hi Mike,

At the moment the only way you would see their real name is if they don't specify a nickname thereby allowing users to see their real name. If you want to discover their real name you could contact them direct with their email address.

We are looking into the data protection issues of allowing administrators of community sites to have access to members real names. if we find we can make some changes to allow access within the system we'll carry out the implementation and make our users aware.

Thanks,

Rob Denison.

Cambridge Open Systems' Support Team

5: Re: Accessing Full Names (response to 4)

Many Thanks for your prompt reply

Mike

6: Re: Accessing Full Names (response to 4)
Posted by DaveP on

Hi Rob,