Bradwell with Pattiswick Parish Council

Minutes of the **Annual** Parish Council Meeting

held on Monday 9th May 2016 2016 at 7.00pm in Bradwell Village Hall

Present: Councillor John Bedford

Councillor Tony Dunn
Councillor Craig Evans
Councillor Lesley Kinder
Councillor Glenn Lockey
Councillor Gareth Pritchard
Councillor Marie Webb

In attendance: Mrs Christine Marshall (Clerk & Responsible Financial Officer)

Four members of the public

Three guests

Cllr Dunn opened the meeting and handed over to the Clerk to begin the business of the meeting, item 16/094 only, following which the meeting would be directed by the newly elected Chairman.

16/094 To elect the Chairman of the Parish Council

Nominations were requested. Cllr Dunn was proposed by Cllr Kinder, seconded by Cllr Evans, all in favour. Cllr Dunn was duly elected as Chairman of the Parish Council for the current year.

16/095 Chairman's Declaration of Office

Cllr Dunn signed the Chairman's Declaration of Office and the Parish Clerk signed as the Proper Officer of the Council.

16/096 To elect the Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council

Nominations were requested. Cllr Lockey was proposed by Cllr Pritchard, seconded by Cllr Webb, all in favour. Cllr Lockey was duly elected as Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council for the current year.

16/097 Vice-Chairman's Declaration of Office

Cllr Lockey signed the Vice-Chairman's Declaration of Office and the Parish Clerk signed as Proper Officer of the Council.

16/098 Declarations of Acceptance of Office

All Councillors signed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office and Declaration to Observe the Code of Conduct. The Parish Clerk signed as the Proper Officer of the Council.

16/099 Register of Members' Interests

With the exception of Cllrs Bedford, Pritchard and Webb, all Members completed their entry for the Register of Members' Interests.

> Action: Cllrs Bedford, Pritchard and Webb to complete and forward to the Parish Clerk before Monday 23rd May 2016.

16/100 Consent Forms

All Member's signed the Consent Form to receive the Council summons and Agenda electronically.

16/101 Bank Mandate

It was AGREED to continue with the Bank Mandate as currently in existence of any two signatories for all outgoing payments or instructions. Signatories are Cllrs Dunn, Lockey and Pritchard.

16/102 Council Policies

It was AGREED to maintain the review schedule commencing July 2016 for all adopted policies:

- Code of Conduct a.
- Communication h
- C. Complaint
- d. Co-option of a Councillor to fill a casual vacancy
- **Data Protection** e.
- Expenses policy for employees and councillors f.
- Freedom of Information and Publication Scheme g.
- h. **Grant Funding**
- Retention of Documents and Records i
- **Standing Orders** į.

Whilst the Financial Regulations had been approved at a previous Parish Council Meeting, this policy had been omitted from the Agenda. Consequently, this will be presented at the June Parish Council Meeting for review scheduling purposes.

Action: Parish Clerk to re-present

16/103 Employment Committee

Cllrs Dunn, Evans and Lockey were nominated and elected. Cllr Dunn was elected Chairman of the Employment Committee.

16/104 Committees

It was AGREED that no other Committees are required to be established at this time and that if specialist groups are required these will be covered by Working Groups nominated for that purpose.

16/105 Village Hall Representative

Cllr Webb was proposed by Cllr Lockey, seconded by Cllr Evans, all in favour. Cllr Webb was duly elected as Village Hall Representative for the current year.

16/106 Public Footpaths' Officer

Cllr Pritchard was proposed by Cllr Evans, seconded by Cllr Lockey, all in favour. Cllr Pritchard was duly elected as Public Footpaths' Officer for the current year.

16/107 Playing Field Officer

Cllr Bedford was proposed by Cllr Evans, seconded by Cllr Pritchard, all in favour. Cllr Bedford was duly elected as Playing Field Officer for the current year.

16/108 Emergency Planning Co-Ordinator

Cllr Evans was proposed by Cllr Webb, seconded by Cllr Kinder, all in favour. Cllr Evans was duly elected as Emergency Planning Co-ordinator for the current year.

16/109 External Bodies Representatives

The following were AGREED to represent Bradwell with Pattiswick Parish Council at external meetings and events:

- a. Rural Community Council Cllr Dunn
- b. Braintree Association of Local Councils Cllr Lockey
- c. Integrated Waste Management Site Liaison Group Cllrs Dunn and Pritchard
- d. Bradwell Quarry Liaison Committee Cllrs Pritchard and Webb
- e. A120 Braintree Community Engagement Forum Cllr Dunn (required to chair next meeting of the A120 Braintree Community Engagement Forum)
- f. Highways (Local Highways Panel and Highways Agency) Cllrs Bedford and Lockey
- g. Transport Cllr Kinder
- h. Holy Trinity Church Cllrs Kinder and Webb
- i. Flooding Cllrs Lockey and Pritchard

16/110 Close of meeting

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 7.20pm