Events relevant to the Barton line

The following events have been scheduled, but can be subject to change, so do check again before setting out.  The asterix (*) denotes FBL involvement or event; non members are welcome to these unless stated otherwise.

 

2018

 

Saturday 5th May *

Group outing to the Chesterfield canal via the Brigg line to Shireoaks followed by a walk along the canal to Kiverton Park for lunch at The Station pub.  Further details from bjsenior@hotmail or from the Secretary.

 

Wednesday 16th May *

FBL committee meeting from 7pm at the No. 1 inn at Cleethorpes station.

 

Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th May

Model Railway show at Immingham museum in Pelham Road with more than ten layouts plus exhibits, trade and society stands.  Open from 10am to 5pm (Sat) and 10am to 4pm (Sun).  Adults £3, Children £1, Families £7.  More information from www.imminghammuseum.org.

 

Sunday 20th May *

Group lunch to mark the start of the Sunday service from around 12:30 (time to be confirmed) at the Jubilee pub in Wybers Wood.  It's about a 25-minute walk from Great Coates station.  Booking advised via the Secretary in order to ensure a table for the group.  Details of menus from www.sizzlingpubs.co.uk.

 

Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd June

Barton Beer Festival; details from www.bartonlions.co.uk.

 

Wednesday 20th June to Sunday 1st July

Barton arts week; details from www.bartonarts.co.uk.

 

Sunday 15th July * To be confirmed.

Group outing to Thornton Abbey to mark the 20th anniversary of the Friends of the Barton Line.

 

Wednesday 18th July *

FBL AGM and OGM at the Sloop inn in Barton from 8pm.  Optional meal from 6pm.

 

Sunday 5th August

Picnic in Barton's Baysgarth Park between 12 noon and 4pm; details from www.barton-upon-humber.org.uk.

 

Wednesday 19th September *

FBL committee meeting from 7pm at the No. 1 inn at Cleethorpes station.

 

Thursday 25th October

Showing of eight short rare archive railway films from 7.30pm at the Joseph Wright Hall at Queen Street in Barton to mark the 70th anniversary of British Railways.  Tickets £4 each payable at the door; a Museums at Night event.

 

Wednesday 21st November *

FBL committee meeting at the Sloop inn in Barton from 8pm.  Optional meal from 6pm.

 

Saturday 24th November

Barton Christmas Festival; details from www.barton-upon-humber.org.uk.

 

Saturday 8th December

Spirit of the Lakes diesel Pullman excursion from Cleethorpes to Edinburgh and back both ways on the East Coast Main Line.  Details from West Coast Railways.