Events relevant to the Barton line

The following events have been scheduled, but can be subject to change, so do check again before setting out.  The asterix (*) denotes FBL involvement or event; non members are welcome to these unless stated otherwise.

 

2018

 

Wednesday 20th June to Sunday 1st July

Barton arts week; details from www.bartonarts.co.uk.

 

Sunday 24th June

Humber Bridge Half Marathon arriving in Barton at around 9.20am and leaving at around 11.30am.

 

Saturday 14th July

Barton Bike Night from 4pm to 9pm.

 

Sunday 15th July * To be confirmed.

Group picnic at Thornton Abbey to mark the 20th anniversary of the Friends of the Barton Line.  Suggested departures: Cleethorpes 12:55 or Barton 13:49; bring your own food.  Option to sit outside or inside the English Heritage site (entrance fee applies).  Although some seating is available you may wish to bring a folding chair.

 

Wednesday 18th July *

FBL AGM and OGM at the Sloop inn in Barton from 8pm.  Optional meal from 6pm.

 

Sunday 5th August

Picnic in Barton's Baysgarth Park between 12 noon and 4pm; details from www.barton-upon-humber.org.uk.

 

Saturday 8th & Sunday 9th September

Barton carnival in Baysgarth Park.

 

Wednesday 19th September *

FBL committee meeting from 7pm at the No. 1 inn at Cleethorpes station.

 

Thursday 25th October

Showing of eight short rare archive railway films from 7.30pm at the Joseph Wright Hall at Queen Street in Barton to mark the 70th anniversary of British Railways.  Tickets £4 each payable at the door; a Museums at Night event.

 

Monday 5th November

Barton Lions' bonfire in Baysgarth Park from 6.15pm followed by fireworks display.

 

Wednesday 21st November *

FBL committee meeting at the Sloop inn in Barton from 8pm.  Optional meal from 6pm.

 

Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th November

Scunthorpe and District model railway exhibition at the Sunshine Hall in Ashby High Street, Scunthorpe from 10:00-17:00 (16:00 on Sunday).

 

Saturday 24th November

Barton Christmas Festival with community parade from 3pm, lantern parade from 5pm and lighting of the tree at 6pm; details from www.barton-upon-humber.org.uk.

 

Saturday 8th December

Spirit of the Lakes diesel Pullman excursion from Cleethorpes to Edinburgh and back both ways on the East Coast Main Line.  Details from West Coast Railways.