Events relevant to the Barton line

The following events have been scheduled, but can be subject to change, so do check again before setting out.  The asterix (*) denotes FBL involvement or event; non members are welcome to these unless stated otherwise.

 

2018

 

Thursday 25th October

Showing of eight short rare archive railway films from 7.30pm at the Joseph Wright Hall at Queen Street in Barton to mark the 70th anniversary of British Railways.  Tickets £4 each payable at the door; a Museums at Night event.

 

Monday 5th November

Barton Lions' bonfire in Baysgarth Park from 6.15pm followed by fireworks display.

 

Wednesday 7th November *

An evening with Pete Myers, local Stakeholder Manager for Northern Rail from 7pm at the No. 1 Inn at Cleethorpes.  Come and listen to Pete's anecdotes and long involvement with the railways and find out about Northern's plans for the future.  Everyone welcome, admission free.

 

Wednesday 21st November *

FBL committee meeting at the Sloop inn in Barton from 8pm.  Optional meal from 6pm.

 

Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th November

Scunthorpe and District model railway exhibition at the Sunshine Hall in Ashby High Street, Scunthorpe from 10:00-17:00 (16:00 on Sunday).

 

Saturday 24th November

Barton Christmas Festival with community parade from 3pm, lantern parade from 5pm and lighting of the tree at 6pm; details from www.barton-upon-humber.org.uk.

 

Friday 30th November to Monday 3rd December *

The group outing to the Christmas markets at Liege, Valkenburg and Aarchen by train via Eurostar has been cancelled by the tour operator due to lack of support.

 

Saturday 8th December

Spirit of the Lakes diesel Pullman excursion from Cleethorpes to Edinburgh and back both ways on the East Coast Main Line.  Details from West Coast Railways.

 

2019

 

Wednesday 16th January *

FBL committee meeting from 7pm at the No. 1 inn at Cleethorpes station.

 

Saturday 19th January *

New Year lunch at the Barrow Haven Inn from 12 noon.  Please let the Secretary know if you wish to attend.

 

Wednesday 20th March *

FBL committee meeting at the Sloop inn in Barton from 8pm.  Optional meal from 6pm.

 

Wednesday 22nd May *

FBL committee meeting from 7pm at the No. 1 inn at Cleethorpes station.

 

Wednesday 17th July *

FBL AGM followed by OGM at the Sloop inn in Barton from 8pm.  Optional meal from 6pm.

 

Wednesday 18th September *

FBL committee meeting from 7pm at the No. 1 inn at Cleethorpes station.

 

Wednesday 20th November *

FBL committee meeting at the Sloop inn in Barton from 8pm.  Optional meal from 6pm.