MINUTES OF THE 2020 ARCTIC CLUB AGM

held by Zoom at 19:30 on Saturday 8 December 2020 The President, Brendan O'Brien, in the Chair

- The Arctic Club Award Fund: three awards were made in 2020, however none of the expeditions were able to go therefore the award money is retained by the Fund. The capital balance at 31st July 2020 is provisionally £134,532.83. The funds are invested and held by the Gino Watkin's Memorial Fund. The University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society are the trustees. Currently the capital value is slightly down due to the stock market decline in 2020.
- As 2020 has been a "no cost dinner" perhaps Members would consider donating to the
 Fund. The Hon Secretary will send out details of how to make a donation in an email.
 If, you do make a donation please ensure that you have completed a Gift Aid form if you
 are a UK taxpayer as we gain 25% by doing so. Even on a small donation the collective
 additional funds will make a material difference.
- The Arctic Club current account with Bank of Scotland is healthy. The accounts are prepared each year for the Committee by the Hon Treasurer, Guillaume Danis.
- The Treasurer would like to remind Members that the annual subscription has increased from £5 to £10. He observes that several Members have not changed their Standing Orders yet.
- Brendan O'Brien, this year's President term ends at midnight on 8 December and Peter Schmidt Mikkelsen will be become the President in 2021 from 13.12.2020. Peter was a member of the Sirius patrol 1977-1979, and has been on many expeditions to northeast Greenland and is a well-known author. https://www.xsirius.dk/en/psm
- I am also pleased to announce that in the Club's 90th year, 2022, Paul Rose will be President. Paul becomes President Elect for 2021, beginning 13.12.2020. Paul is a polar diver and expedition leader. He has completed Greenland crossings, is a former Vice President of Royal Geographical Society and is a TV presenter.
- A very warm welcome to the Members elected this year: Bill Block, Geoffrey Boulton, Andrew Dobrzanski, Clive Johnson, Anna McCormack, Chris Pannell, Clive Shute, Anthony Speca, Hazel Yabsley
- Peter Chaplin is our new webmaster building on Mike Lea's founding work.
- Whilst the pandemic has prevented the Club holding its dinner physically, Zoom has
 proved an opportunity to have overseas members and those who find it difficult to
 travel present at a virtual event. Zoom also enabled the Club to hold the first in a series
 of talks on Tuesday 1 December.

Penny Goodman Honorary Secretary The Arctic Club 18th December 2020